The Beginning

I signed up for this blog almost a month ago. For the first two weeks, I put it off because I felt like no one was interested in school over the summer. Since then, I’ve just had a hard time getting started. I’m human, I like to procrastinate, and that is actually one of the reasons that I am writing now.

The goal of this blog is to provide prospective college music majors with a little help. College admissions can be confusing, music admissions even more so. I have been a student, both undergraduate and graduate, and now an administrator.  I have been both admitted and denied to schools. I have switched majors. I have switched degrees. I have experienced many of the same things with my friends. I am by no means an expert, but I am a real person, and I’d like to be able to help in any way I can.

In all, I have three goals for this blog:

  • To help in the music admissions process, answering commonly asked questions and providing insight from the other side of the application
  • To give a face to the admissions process, proving that we are real people and allowing you to get to know us a little better
  • To provide prospective students with more information about the University of Illinois School of Music (where I work) and also provide a forum to discuss other schools of music

I will be writing as much as I can over the next few months. I intend to discuss some of the most asked questions, but also lend my personal insight. I’d like to bring you with me as I travel around the country and allow you to see what I see. Soon, I hope to invite other schools to join in the discussion and give their perspective on a broader range of options.  I certainly don’t claim to be the best writer in the world, but I hope that what you find here is helpful.

Finally, I would like to encourage you to get involved. Although I work for the University of Illinois, I welcome questions from everyone, regardless of where you may be interested in studying. If you would like some help with the admissions process, I would strongly encourage you to come back often or subscribe using one of the links at the side. I would love to receive any comments on my posts and would welcome questions either in the comments section or by email (dmhassle@illinois.edu). If you have a topic you would like to see covered on this blog, let me know as well. I am looking forward to getting to know you and hope you will keep coming back.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

